Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Hush, Hush Winners/ RGR News/ New Years!

Hey everyone! Sorry I haven't posted in a while! X_x The holidays had me super busy this year... I don't know why I end up trying to do so much extra stuff during the holidays cause I'm always so busy anyways, but I do! xP

Anywho, I had a drawing tonight, and the winners of the Hush Hush giveaway are as follows:

Hang Yourself From Stolen Dreams (Faye) won the Hardcover Prize pack!

Kieran won the Paperback ARC Prize pack!

Katie won the Hush, Hush bookmark and postcard!

And Tisa won a Hush Hush Postcard!

Plz send me your addresses soonish! I probably wont be able to send these until after the New Year, But I shall send them soon!

Now some news about the blog!

This year of blogging really has been awesome, and while I've enjoyed so much of it, it's also been pretty draining... (I literally haven't had a chance to read anything in like the past three months, which is kind of counter productive... >_<)

So I've decided that while I'm not saying I'm going to stop posting, I'm definitely not going to be posting AS MUCH from now on. 2010 is bringing me a lot of new challenges already, and a lot more work, and as much as I love the blog, I'm just going to have to slow down so I can handle it all! I hope that's understandable enough. =/

This way I can stock up on more reviews for you guys, and read a bunch more, so that the whole point of this blog (my honest reviews) won't be forgotten in the frenzy of prizes and giveaways and such. (Of course I love those too, but they can wait for a while till my reviews are more frequent!)

PLUS it'll give me time to work on a new project I'm WAY excited to share with you guys! I was really hoping to have it up and running by New Years but I'm not sure that'll happen... guess we'll see how much work on it I can crank out till 12 am tomorrow night! ;D

But I'm really excited about it, and I hope some of you guys will like what I post there along with my reviews and such. :) Eventually I'll probably blog mainly from that blog, IndiGrrrls, but even then I'll still post reviews sometimes. No worries! ;)

So guess that's all, not goodbye but see you later! (Probably on Twitter! ;) haha) Love you all SOOOO much, and thanks for being my readers! Happy New Year!

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Hush, Hush Review! (Last chance to enter + donate!)

Hey guys! All I can say is that I’m soooo sorry that this past week’s fizzled out so much, my computer FAILED ME and I wasn’t able to post anything for a while because my Internet wouldn’t open, but here I am now, and I’ve got my Hush, Hush review!

I’d also planned on doing another interview and review but since the weeks gotten cut short it looks like that won’t be happening, though I’ll definitely still post it, it just might be a few days after Christmas or sometime in January, but for now, I’ll say that 20 Boy Summer was additionally one of the best deb. books of 2009! MAJOR props to Mrs. Sarah Ockler on that one.

Anywho! Sorry about all the confusion and general disappointment this week; what can I say, the holidays have everyone in a tizzy!

But here’s my review of Hush, Hush; hopefully it will make up for it!

For those of you wanting to know a bit more about the plot, check out this book trailer!


*girlysigh* OK, so.......his name is Patch.........*gigglefit*

Ok, honestly, I HAVE had a lot of fangirl crushes on fictional characters this year, but Patch is definitely my number one bad boy crush of 2009!

He’s dark, mysterious, and devilishly handsome…. I am in love with this guy! And the best part is, not only is he awesome, but so is the book he’s in—Hush, Hush!

The story line was wonderfully weaved with the brilliant injection of plot twists at just the right moments, and the awesome pacing between interludes with Patch–that left me momentarily dazzled–and the developing plot line of Nora’s investigations into his past.
Nora was also an awesome narrator and I loved seeing the story unfold from her POV. (Not JUST because she bumps into Patch more then she’d like! Ok, well, maybe a little because of that...)

I really can’t recommend this book enough, I’ve already told so many people that they HAVE to read it already, but I’m not done because you have to read it too!

Seriously one of my favorite books of the year, definitely a win, win, win (!) for the Twilight fans, and anyone else just looking for an awesome story that they won’t be able to put down.



Don’t forget you have today and tomorrow to get your last minute entries in for a SIGNED copy of Hush, Hush, and other prizes! Trust me when I say this is one prize you will definitely enjoy!

Also if you’re going to donate books for Home Base Youth Services please get those donations to me ASAP, ok?

You can find out into on that and the Hush, Hush giveaway HERE.

Thanks so much guys! Love you all!


Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Interview with Becca Fitzpatrick (Hush, Hush)!

Can you remember the moment you decided to go into storytelling and
become a writer? Tell us about it. :)

I do remember! The day was February 3, 2003, and the event was my twenty-fourth birthday. After a long debate between Japanese cooking lessons and an eight-week writing class, my husband decided to give me the writing class for my birthday present. I have to admit, I was hoping for the Japanese cooking lessons because A) I took one English course in college and my professor threatened to fail me, and B) I didn't think I had a story to tell. But at the same time, I felt a scary and almost magnetic draw to the class. When I was eight years old, I watched Romancing the Stone for the first time and promptly announced to my mom that I would grow up to be a writer. Granted, I thought all writers hunted for treasure in Colombia and fell in love with a sexy, mysterious stranger a.k.a. Michael Douglas...

What authors have influenced you in your writing so far? Have you
gotten to meet any one them since you've been published?

I love the stories Diana Gabaldon, Sandra Brown, Jane Austen and J.K. Rowling tell. Also, it was after reading Laurie Halse Anderson's SPEAK that I knew I had to write YA. I haven't met Laurie in person, but I did get to hear her talk at NCTE 2009 in Philadelphia. It was so cool! She's just as entertaining and clever in person.

What was one book that got you hooked on reading as a kid? A WRINKLE IN TIME instantly comes to mind. I started it on a school night, and raced home the following day after school to finish. That was the fourth grade, I believe.

What's your writing process like? Do you outline? A long time ago, when I first started writing, I didn't outline. Now, I swear by it. I find that it saves me a lot of time. Also, I rarely hit writers block when I have a strong outline telling me where the story will go next.

You have great play lists for both of your books on your website! Do you listen music like a soundtrack while you're writing? Or do you just feel like certain songs connect to the story?

Laughing! I absolutely canNOT write to music. I wish I could, but every time I try it, I find that the music makes me think my writing is better than it actually is. That's the power of good music!

I'm so excited for Crescendo! Can you give us any hints to tide us over until next Fall?

I'm not releasing many details, but I will say that readers will find out what really happened the night Nora's dad was murdered. Let's just say he was living a secret with ties to Patch...

Does you're press tour start soon? I wanna come see you!

YAY! So glad you want to meet me in person! I'll be going on tour in January and February 2010, but I'm not allowed to say where just yet. I promise I'll update my website as soon as I can.

Happy Christmas! What are your plans?

The family and I are going to Estes Park, Colorado. My two boys really, really want to go snowmobiling.

Do you have any books on your Christmas list this year? If so, which ones?

I'm giving THE DARK DIVINE by Bree Despain and BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia and Margie Stohl.

Last question! What were some of your favorite books of '09?

To be honest, most of the books I've read in the past six months don't come out until 2010. Is there any way I can pimp them instead? SISTERS RED by Jackson Pearce was amazing! I also loved in a mad way HEX HALL by Rachel Hawkins and PARANORMALCY by Kiersten White. NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer is wicked good fun. PRINCESS FOR HIRE by Lindsey Leavitt is nonstop laughs. THE SECRET YEAR by Jennifer Hubbard was also really, really good – it reminded me of a modern THE OUTSIDERS.


Haha awesome! Thanks so much to Becca for being with us the week! And don't forget that I'm giving away a SIGNED hardcover, An ARC, Bookmarks, Postcars, and Book Cover Posters of Hush, Hush! You can learn more about that contest here!

Look out for a review of Hush, Hush later in the week!


Sunday, December 13, 2009

I Can't Keep My Own Secrets: Six-Word Memoirs by Teens Edited by Smith Magazine (Review)

Product Description From Amazon:
One life. Six words. What's yours?

True tales of love, loss, good friends, and bad hair days filled Not Quite What I Was Planning, the New York Times bestselling first book in the Six-Word Memoir series—and an international phenomenon. Some of the most compelling were by teens, so now SMITH Magazine has compiled a book written entirely by these bold, brash truth-tellers. From cancer to creativity, prom dates to promiscuity, and breaking hearts to breaking laws, the memoirs in this collection reveal that often the youngest writers have the most fascinating stories to tell.

"Met online; love before first sight."

"Hair's pink to piss you off."

"I fulfilled my awkwardness quota today."

"I'm seventeen, engaged, and not pregnant."

"My mom had my boyfriend deported."

"Late for school every single day."

"According to Facebook, we broke up


Fans of FML, FOUND, Post Secret, and MLIA will LOVE “I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets”. It’s funny, thought provoking, and sometimes so deeply moving that you literally have to stop reading--to wonder, shiver, cry, think, feel, love, hate, want, see, know, have, be-- before you can go on. Truly stunning and visionary, this book is definitely one of my favorite books of the year, and one that I can’t recommend enough.

I read it in one sitting, but it’s one of those books that’s nice to take in little pieces too. The idea is that every entry consists of only six words, which means, six words that tell you’re life story, or highlight a particularly important turning point in your life or something that you might be going through at the time.

With every memoir you either smile to yourself or start sobbing HARD at the graciously shared piece of another persons life offered up to the world in one giant neon sign that reads, “You are not alone,” to the youth of America.

And the awesome thing is that as you’re reading it you suddenly feel this deep sense of connection; to the world, to your own life, your family, your friends, people you hardly know, people you would be nervous to get to know, people who seem superficial, people to seem lost—everyone and everything—and it’s happy, and sad, and satisfying, and lovely, and hungry, and desperate, and beautiful, and—

Yeah. Please read this one guys, pick it up at the bookstore and just read a few to see what I mean, or even check out the Smith Magazine site and read some of the entries there—anything so long as you take a moment to take this in, because it seriously is so humbling, and just… well, epic. It’s a really great read and one you’ll definitely re-read and want to pass on to everyone you know and care about, and even to people you may not know. It’s a book to be shared; please read it, and spread the word. You are not alone.


Please donate books to HomeBase Youth Services and Get ten extra entries in my Hush, Hush giveaway for donating! More info here!


Friday, December 11, 2009

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce (Review)

Product Description from Amazon:
Ever since Viola's boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a young genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes.

Jinn is anxious to return home, but Viola is terrified of wishing, afraid she will not wish for the right thing, the thing that will make her truly happy. As the two spend time together, the lines between master and servant begin to blur, and soon Jinn can't deny that he's falling for Viola. But it's only after Viola makes her first wish that she realizes she's in love with Jinn as well . . . and that if she wishes twice more, he will disappear from her life—and her world—forever.

Jackson Pearce spins a magical tale about star-crossed lovers, what it means to belong . . . and how important it is to be careful what you wish for.


What a fun read by a 2009 YA Deb Jackson Pearce!

I’ve been a fan of Jackson’s ever since I started reading her blog at the end of the last year, so I was so excited and proud to finally see her books on the shelves, and even more so when I finally read As You Wish!

Honestly, it exceded all of my expectations, Jackson has a way of writing that makes you feel like you’re totally involved in the main characters life from the get go, and through the ups and the downs of her life, you somehow remain strangely optimistic about her future all the way through. Viola herself was very relatable in some aspects, and her story was told beautifully.

As for Jinn, well, I’ve never been one to dis a supernatural figure, especially a hot one, but I really do mean it when I say he was awesome! He made me laugh out loud so many times and I loved his voice as a character.

The whole story was just magical, and I literally couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read Jackson’s next book, Sisters Read, due to bookshelves next year.


Thursday, December 10, 2009

A Message on Book Donations

Maybe you've already donated and maybe you're skeptical, but I just want to take the opportunity to give you a little more information about Home Base Youth Services and encourage you, once again, to PLEASE consider donating to a great cause! Here's a little more info about HBYS from Rachel Dallmann HBYS's Development & Volunteer Coordinator.

HomeBase Youth Services is an Arizona-based, non-profit organization
founded in 1991 to address the growing needs of at-risk and homeless
youth age 21 and younger. At age 18, many youth "age out" of the foster
care or juvenile justice systems without the necessary life skills to
live independently; as a result, they quickly end up homeless and on the
streets. Other youth choose to flee their homes after years of mental,
physical and emotional abuse, or neglect. HomeBase addresses the needs
of this "forgotten" population, and assists these promising young people
with the tools they need to live healthy, independent lives. The
programs and services we offer include Street Outreach, Mobile Medical
Outreach, Employment and Life Skills Training, Substance Abuse and
Mental Health Care, a Resource Center, a Transitional Living Program,
and an Independent Living Program.

The books would be added to the small library that has been started at
the Resource Center where youth who are living on the streets and in the
shelters can escape everything that is going on out there.

We would also have books available at the Transitional Living Facility
for youth who are working and/or going to school.

Books are a great way for the youth to escape to a temporary safe place
while they are working on getting there themselves. Right now, both
locations only have a shelf or two to choose from. We would also be
able to offer the youth the option of keeping a book or two, that they
would enjoy rereading. Many of the youth have very little material
possessions, so it would be nice for them to have something that is

Thanks for reading guys! Also I'm going to say, that if you donate at least one book for this cause, I'll give you ten extra entries in the Hush, Hush giveaway!

You can find out more about how to donate through the link above.


Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Interview with Jackson Pearce! (As You Wish)

As You Wish is your first published book--YAY! What a gift! Is there anything you could get for Christmas that could top finally seeing your book on the shelves after all the time spent preparing it for your readers?

To be! Nothing realistic, anyway. If we're going for unrealistic, I'd like to get a long, stable writing career with lots of good books. But I don't think that fits in a stocking :)

What got you started as a writer?

I couldn't find the book in the library that I wanted to read, so I decided to write it myself-- I was about nine or ten at the time. I've been writing ever since.

Did it take you long to break into the business?

Long is such a subjective thing-- at the time, it felt like centuries, but I know some people have to wait much longer (and some much shorter). It took me about two years.

When you first heard the news that As You Wish was going to be published, what expectations did you have, and did any of those change as time passed?

I thought EVERYONE at my publisher would be backing my book with all their hearts. But then I realized all those editors have their own authors who have their own books to back, and that it, alas, wasn't just about me. I learned to not expect to be a big fish in a small pond right away.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Separate writing from publishing. Writing is something you do because you love it. Publishing is something you do because you want to make money. They are two very different things.

As a writer you get lots of perks (right?!) including some ARC's of upcoming releases. What were some of your favorite books of '09?

I loved SHIVER, THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, BEAUTIFUL CREATURES...I feel like I've read a million books this year, and to be honest, there were very few duds.

Did you ask for any books for Christmas? If so, which ones?

I didn't! Because I buy books all the time for myself, haha-- hey, it's for business! I did, however, just order HATE LIST, MAGIC UNDER GLASS, and STORY OF A GIRL (still hadn't read it!), I guess I could call that a Christmas present to myself?

What plans do you have for the holidays?

I spend the holidays with family. I LOVE Christmas in a serious, serious way.

Do you tend to avoid writing this time of year, or use the cold
weather as an excuse to stay inside?

I write about the same amount regardless of the season, though I am especially busy this winter-- I'm juggling several books at once.

As the year draws to a close what are you most thankful for?

The fantastic friends I've made in the industry, and how fortunate I've been to be able to do what I love for a living.

Last question--I'm dying to know how you're Nanowrimo went! Did you
finish and do you think you'll try to get it published?

I did not finish! FAIL on me. I got about 30k in and had to step back to work out some plot stuff, and by then I was woefully behind. I will finish it though, eventually. I'd like to try and get it published, but I'm trying to remember that it was my "just for fun" book.


Thanks for the wonderful interview Jackson!

You can learn more about Jackson's upcoming books, as well as read her delightful chatter at her blog here. Look out for my review of As You Wish sometime this week!

ALSO! Don't forget you have until the end of the month to send me books to donate to HomeBase Youth Services! Old or new, all donations are welcome! And You also have till the 25th to enter to win HUSH, HUSH by Becca Fitzpatrick, and other prizes by visiting this link!