Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Hush, Hush Winners/ RGR News/ New Years!

Hey everyone! Sorry I haven't posted in a while! X_x The holidays had me super busy this year... I don't know why I end up trying to do so much extra stuff during the holidays cause I'm always so busy anyways, but I do! xP

Anywho, I had a drawing tonight, and the winners of the Hush Hush giveaway are as follows:

Hang Yourself From Stolen Dreams (Faye) won the Hardcover Prize pack!

Kieran won the Paperback ARC Prize pack!

Katie won the Hush, Hush bookmark and postcard!

And Tisa won a Hush Hush Postcard!


Plz send me your addresses soonish! I probably wont be able to send these until after the New Year, But I shall send them soon!

Now some news about the blog!

This year of blogging really has been awesome, and while I've enjoyed so much of it, it's also been pretty draining... (I literally haven't had a chance to read anything in like the past three months, which is kind of counter productive... >_<)

So I've decided that while I'm not saying I'm going to stop posting, I'm definitely not going to be posting AS MUCH from now on. 2010 is bringing me a lot of new challenges already, and a lot more work, and as much as I love the blog, I'm just going to have to slow down so I can handle it all! I hope that's understandable enough. =/

This way I can stock up on more reviews for you guys, and read a bunch more, so that the whole point of this blog (my honest reviews) won't be forgotten in the frenzy of prizes and giveaways and such. (Of course I love those too, but they can wait for a while till my reviews are more frequent!)

PLUS it'll give me time to work on a new project I'm WAY excited to share with you guys! I was really hoping to have it up and running by New Years but I'm not sure that'll happen... guess we'll see how much work on it I can crank out till 12 am tomorrow night! ;D

But I'm really excited about it, and I hope some of you guys will like what I post there along with my reviews and such. :) Eventually I'll probably blog mainly from that blog, IndiGrrrls, but even then I'll still post reviews sometimes. No worries! ;)


So guess that's all, not goodbye but see you later! (Probably on Twitter! ;) haha) Love you all SOOOO much, and thanks for being my readers! Happy New Year!
xoxoxo


Thursday, December 24, 2009

Hush, Hush Review! (Last chance to enter + donate!)

Hey guys! All I can say is that I’m soooo sorry that this past week’s fizzled out so much, my computer FAILED ME and I wasn’t able to post anything for a while because my Internet wouldn’t open, but here I am now, and I’ve got my Hush, Hush review!

I’d also planned on doing another interview and review but since the weeks gotten cut short it looks like that won’t be happening, though I’ll definitely still post it, it just might be a few days after Christmas or sometime in January, but for now, I’ll say that 20 Boy Summer was additionally one of the best deb. books of 2009! MAJOR props to Mrs. Sarah Ockler on that one.

Anywho! Sorry about all the confusion and general disappointment this week; what can I say, the holidays have everyone in a tizzy!

But here’s my review of Hush, Hush; hopefully it will make up for it!

For those of you wanting to know a bit more about the plot, check out this book trailer!



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*girlysigh* OK, so.......his name is Patch.........*gigglefit*

Ok, honestly, I HAVE had a lot of fangirl crushes on fictional characters this year, but Patch is definitely my number one bad boy crush of 2009!

He’s dark, mysterious, and devilishly handsome…. I am in love with this guy! And the best part is, not only is he awesome, but so is the book he’s in—Hush, Hush!

The story line was wonderfully weaved with the brilliant injection of plot twists at just the right moments, and the awesome pacing between interludes with Patch–that left me momentarily dazzled–and the developing plot line of Nora’s investigations into his past.
Nora was also an awesome narrator and I loved seeing the story unfold from her POV. (Not JUST because she bumps into Patch more then she’d like! Ok, well, maybe a little because of that...)

I really can’t recommend this book enough, I’ve already told so many people that they HAVE to read it already, but I’m not done because you have to read it too!

Seriously one of my favorite books of the year, definitely a win, win, win (!) for the Twilight fans, and anyone else just looking for an awesome story that they won’t be able to put down.

LOVE!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t forget you have today and tomorrow to get your last minute entries in for a SIGNED copy of Hush, Hush, and other prizes! Trust me when I say this is one prize you will definitely enjoy!

Also if you’re going to donate books for Home Base Youth Services please get those donations to me ASAP, ok?


You can find out into on that and the Hush, Hush giveaway HERE.

Thanks so much guys! Love you all!

xoxoxo

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Interview with Becca Fitzpatrick (Hush, Hush)!

Can you remember the moment you decided to go into storytelling and
become a writer? Tell us about it. :)


I do remember! The day was February 3, 2003, and the event was my twenty-fourth birthday. After a long debate between Japanese cooking lessons and an eight-week writing class, my husband decided to give me the writing class for my birthday present. I have to admit, I was hoping for the Japanese cooking lessons because A) I took one English course in college and my professor threatened to fail me, and B) I didn't think I had a story to tell. But at the same time, I felt a scary and almost magnetic draw to the class. When I was eight years old, I watched Romancing the Stone for the first time and promptly announced to my mom that I would grow up to be a writer. Granted, I thought all writers hunted for treasure in Colombia and fell in love with a sexy, mysterious stranger a.k.a. Michael Douglas...


What authors have influenced you in your writing so far? Have you
gotten to meet any one them since you've been published?



I love the stories Diana Gabaldon, Sandra Brown, Jane Austen and J.K. Rowling tell. Also, it was after reading Laurie Halse Anderson's SPEAK that I knew I had to write YA. I haven't met Laurie in person, but I did get to hear her talk at NCTE 2009 in Philadelphia. It was so cool! She's just as entertaining and clever in person.


What was one book that got you hooked on reading as a kid? A WRINKLE IN TIME instantly comes to mind. I started it on a school night, and raced home the following day after school to finish. That was the fourth grade, I believe.

What's your writing process like? Do you outline? A long time ago, when I first started writing, I didn't outline. Now, I swear by it. I find that it saves me a lot of time. Also, I rarely hit writers block when I have a strong outline telling me where the story will go next.


You have great play lists for both of your books on your website! Do you listen music like a soundtrack while you're writing? Or do you just feel like certain songs connect to the story?

Laughing! I absolutely canNOT write to music. I wish I could, but every time I try it, I find that the music makes me think my writing is better than it actually is. That's the power of good music!

I'm so excited for Crescendo! Can you give us any hints to tide us over until next Fall?

I'm not releasing many details, but I will say that readers will find out what really happened the night Nora's dad was murdered. Let's just say he was living a secret life...one with ties to Patch...

Does you're press tour start soon? I wanna come see you!

YAY! So glad you want to meet me in person! I'll be going on tour in January and February 2010, but I'm not allowed to say where just yet. I promise I'll update my website as soon as I can.


Happy Christmas! What are your plans?

The family and I are going to Estes Park, Colorado. My two boys really, really want to go snowmobiling.

Do you have any books on your Christmas list this year? If so, which ones?

I'm giving THE DARK DIVINE by Bree Despain and BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia and Margie Stohl.

Last question! What were some of your favorite books of '09?

To be honest, most of the books I've read in the past six months don't come out until 2010. Is there any way I can pimp them instead? SISTERS RED by Jackson Pearce was amazing! I also loved in a mad way HEX HALL by Rachel Hawkins and PARANORMALCY by Kiersten White. NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer is wicked good fun. PRINCESS FOR HIRE by Lindsey Leavitt is nonstop laughs. THE SECRET YEAR by Jennifer Hubbard was also really, really good – it reminded me of a modern THE OUTSIDERS.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Haha awesome! Thanks so much to Becca for being with us the week! And don't forget that I'm giving away a SIGNED hardcover, An ARC, Bookmarks, Postcars, and Book Cover Posters of Hush, Hush! You can learn more about that contest here!

Look out for a review of Hush, Hush later in the week!

xoxoxo

Sunday, December 13, 2009

I Can't Keep My Own Secrets: Six-Word Memoirs by Teens Edited by Smith Magazine (Review)


Product Description From Amazon:
One life. Six words. What's yours?

True tales of love, loss, good friends, and bad hair days filled Not Quite What I Was Planning, the New York Times bestselling first book in the Six-Word Memoir series—and an international phenomenon. Some of the most compelling were by teens, so now SMITH Magazine has compiled a book written entirely by these bold, brash truth-tellers. From cancer to creativity, prom dates to promiscuity, and breaking hearts to breaking laws, the memoirs in this collection reveal that often the youngest writers have the most fascinating stories to tell.

"Met online; love before first sight."

"Hair's pink to piss you off."

"I fulfilled my awkwardness quota today."

"I'm seventeen, engaged, and not pregnant."

"My mom had my boyfriend deported."

"Late for school every single day."

"According to Facebook, we broke up
."



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fans of FML, FOUND, Post Secret, and MLIA will LOVE “I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets”. It’s funny, thought provoking, and sometimes so deeply moving that you literally have to stop reading--to wonder, shiver, cry, think, feel, love, hate, want, see, know, have, be-- before you can go on. Truly stunning and visionary, this book is definitely one of my favorite books of the year, and one that I can’t recommend enough.

I read it in one sitting, but it’s one of those books that’s nice to take in little pieces too. The idea is that every entry consists of only six words, which means, six words that tell you’re life story, or highlight a particularly important turning point in your life or something that you might be going through at the time.

With every memoir you either smile to yourself or start sobbing HARD at the graciously shared piece of another persons life offered up to the world in one giant neon sign that reads, “You are not alone,” to the youth of America.

And the awesome thing is that as you’re reading it you suddenly feel this deep sense of connection; to the world, to your own life, your family, your friends, people you hardly know, people you would be nervous to get to know, people who seem superficial, people to seem lost—everyone and everything—and it’s happy, and sad, and satisfying, and lovely, and hungry, and desperate, and beautiful, and—

Yeah. Please read this one guys, pick it up at the bookstore and just read a few to see what I mean, or even check out the Smith Magazine site and read some of the entries there—anything so long as you take a moment to take this in, because it seriously is so humbling, and just… well, epic. It’s a really great read and one you’ll definitely re-read and want to pass on to everyone you know and care about, and even to people you may not know. It’s a book to be shared; please read it, and spread the word. You are not alone.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please donate books to HomeBase Youth Services and Get ten extra entries in my Hush, Hush giveaway for donating! More info here!

xoxoxo

Friday, December 11, 2009

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce (Review)


Product Description from Amazon:
Ever since Viola's boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a young genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes.

Jinn is anxious to return home, but Viola is terrified of wishing, afraid she will not wish for the right thing, the thing that will make her truly happy. As the two spend time together, the lines between master and servant begin to blur, and soon Jinn can't deny that he's falling for Viola. But it's only after Viola makes her first wish that she realizes she's in love with Jinn as well . . . and that if she wishes twice more, he will disappear from her life—and her world—forever.

Jackson Pearce spins a magical tale about star-crossed lovers, what it means to belong . . . and how important it is to be careful what you wish for.


Review:

What a fun read by a 2009 YA Deb Jackson Pearce!

I’ve been a fan of Jackson’s ever since I started reading her blog at the end of the last year, so I was so excited and proud to finally see her books on the shelves, and even more so when I finally read As You Wish!

Honestly, it exceded all of my expectations, Jackson has a way of writing that makes you feel like you’re totally involved in the main characters life from the get go, and through the ups and the downs of her life, you somehow remain strangely optimistic about her future all the way through. Viola herself was very relatable in some aspects, and her story was told beautifully.

As for Jinn, well, I’ve never been one to dis a supernatural figure, especially a hot one, but I really do mean it when I say he was awesome! He made me laugh out loud so many times and I loved his voice as a character.

The whole story was just magical, and I literally couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read Jackson’s next book, Sisters Read, due to bookshelves next year.

xoxoxo

Thursday, December 10, 2009

A Message on Book Donations

Maybe you've already donated and maybe you're skeptical, but I just want to take the opportunity to give you a little more information about Home Base Youth Services and encourage you, once again, to PLEASE consider donating to a great cause! Here's a little more info about HBYS from Rachel Dallmann HBYS's Development & Volunteer Coordinator.

HomeBase Youth Services is an Arizona-based, non-profit organization
founded in 1991 to address the growing needs of at-risk and homeless
youth age 21 and younger. At age 18, many youth "age out" of the foster
care or juvenile justice systems without the necessary life skills to
live independently; as a result, they quickly end up homeless and on the
streets. Other youth choose to flee their homes after years of mental,
physical and emotional abuse, or neglect. HomeBase addresses the needs
of this "forgotten" population, and assists these promising young people
with the tools they need to live healthy, independent lives. The
programs and services we offer include Street Outreach, Mobile Medical
Outreach, Employment and Life Skills Training, Substance Abuse and
Mental Health Care, a Resource Center, a Transitional Living Program,
and an Independent Living Program.

The books would be added to the small library that has been started at
the Resource Center where youth who are living on the streets and in the
shelters can escape everything that is going on out there.

We would also have books available at the Transitional Living Facility
for youth who are working and/or going to school.

Books are a great way for the youth to escape to a temporary safe place
while they are working on getting there themselves. Right now, both
locations only have a shelf or two to choose from. We would also be
able to offer the youth the option of keeping a book or two, that they
would enjoy rereading. Many of the youth have very little material
possessions, so it would be nice for them to have something that is
theirs.


Thanks for reading guys! Also I'm going to say, that if you donate at least one book for this cause, I'll give you ten extra entries in the Hush, Hush giveaway!

You can find out more about how to donate through the link above.

xoxoxo

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Interview with Jackson Pearce! (As You Wish)

As You Wish is your first published book--YAY! What a gift! Is there anything you could get for Christmas that could top finally seeing your book on the shelves after all the time spent preparing it for your readers?

To be honest...no! Nothing realistic, anyway. If we're going for unrealistic, I'd like to get a long, stable writing career with lots of good books. But I don't think that fits in a stocking :)


What got you started as a writer?


I couldn't find the book in the library that I wanted to read, so I decided to write it myself-- I was about nine or ten at the time. I've been writing ever since.


Did it take you long to break into the business?


Long is such a subjective thing-- at the time, it felt like centuries, but I know some people have to wait much longer (and some much shorter). It took me about two years.


When you first heard the news that As You Wish was going to be published, what expectations did you have, and did any of those change as time passed?

I thought EVERYONE at my publisher would be backing my book with all their hearts. But then I realized all those editors have their own authors who have their own books to back, and that it, alas, wasn't just about me. I learned to not expect to be a big fish in a small pond right away.


Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Separate writing from publishing. Writing is something you do because you love it. Publishing is something you do because you want to make money. They are two very different things.


As a writer you get lots of perks (right?!) including some ARC's of upcoming releases. What were some of your favorite books of '09?

I loved SHIVER, THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, BEAUTIFUL CREATURES...I feel like I've read a million books this year, and to be honest, there were very few duds.


Did you ask for any books for Christmas? If so, which ones?

I didn't! Because I buy books all the time for myself, haha-- hey, it's for business! I did, however, just order HATE LIST, MAGIC UNDER GLASS, and STORY OF A GIRL (still hadn't read it!), I guess I could call that a Christmas present to myself?


What plans do you have for the holidays?

I spend the holidays with family. I LOVE Christmas in a serious, serious way.


Do you tend to avoid writing this time of year, or use the cold
weather as an excuse to stay inside?


I write about the same amount regardless of the season, though I am especially busy this winter-- I'm juggling several books at once.


As the year draws to a close what are you most thankful for?


The fantastic friends I've made in the industry, and how fortunate I've been to be able to do what I love for a living.


Last question--I'm dying to know how you're Nanowrimo went! Did you
finish and do you think you'll try to get it published?


I did not finish! FAIL on me. I got about 30k in and had to step back to work out some plot stuff, and by then I was woefully behind. I will finish it though, eventually. I'd like to try and get it published, but I'm trying to remember that it was my "just for fun" book.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for the wonderful interview Jackson!

You can learn more about Jackson's upcoming books, as well as read her delightful chatter at her blog here. Look out for my review of As You Wish sometime this week!

ALSO! Don't forget you have until the end of the month to send me books to donate to HomeBase Youth Services! Old or new, all donations are welcome! And You also have till the 25th to enter to win HUSH, HUSH by Becca Fitzpatrick, and other prizes by visiting this link!

xoxoxo

Friday, December 4, 2009

Re-Cycler by Lauren McLaughlin (Review)


Hey Guys!

For those of you who don’t yet know about the awesome that is Cycler, check out my review here! Or watch this awesome book trailer Lauren made!



OR! Read the first three chapters here! There's just so many options, you can't NOT at least give this book a try. For me?! You will love it I swear!!!

And here's my review of Re-Cycler!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Among the many wonders of our world, one in perticular has captured my heart… and his name Jack McTeague!!! 8D *gigglefit*

Ok, seriously though, if you were as in love with Cycler as I was, you will adore this sequal! Lauren does a great job in taking the story in a whole new direction that keeps you so glued to the book that you better clear a day or so to read it in one sitting.

The charicters have already developed so much in this book, and I felt like I knew them so much better after reading it. Jack really seems to come into his own more, and I loved that we got to get to know him more as a person and not just the other half of Jill*. And Jill was definitely moving past all the rough stuff that happened in Cycler to find herself again and remember that she isn't just defined by Jacks existance.

As a fan I was really excited that I was able to read this one early**, and I was so glad I wasn’t dissapointed in how it turned out.

Although, I may have to have a talk with Lauren about how she’s supposedly not writing another book***.... We gotta work that out... -_-

But so good! haha Read it! ^_^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Of course we got to see him as a person in Cycler too, but there was MOAR of that in Re-Cyler! 8) SO good.

** Especially since I feel like I’ve been waiting YEARS to get to read it!

*** See interview I did with Lauren on Wednesday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks guys! <3

xoxoxo

Thursday, December 3, 2009

ARG!

Hey Guys! Sorry, but todays just been way too busy, aunts in labor, we've been gone, etc. and I wont be able to post the review today. =/ I'm sosososooooo sorry! But I'll definitely post it tomorrow! In the meantime check out what Lauren said about the interview and about giving your book donations on her blog, she's awesome! :)

http://www.laurenmclaughlin.net/2009/12/03/interview-with-readergirl/

So sorry again! Tomorrow I swear! D8

xoxoxo

RG

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Interview with Lauren McLaughlin (Cycler+ReCycler)

Ok, guys, time for some serious book love! hehe Lauren McLaughlin in the author of two of my favorite books; Cycler and Re-Cycler! You can read about my mad love for Cycler here, and you WILL be able to read all about my love of Re-Cycler in my review tomorrow! In the meantime, check out this exclusive interview with Lauren! Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How are you finding New York during this wonderful winter-y season?

I love this time of year because I tend to divide my time between New York, which is often frigid but bright; London, which is a bit warmer but also gray; and Florida, which is full of sunshine. It gets confusing, but I like the variety. And I make sure to listen to plenty of Bing Crosby to remind myself that, wherever I am, it's still Christmas.

Did you ask for any books this Christmas? If so, which ones?

I always ask for books for Christmas and books are what I give people too. This year I've asked for The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan and Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan. I'm both frightened and excited by both of them and have heard lots of great things about them. I'm in the mood for a good scare.


What were some of your favorite books of '09?


I've read some really great ones. The ones that stand out, however, are Liar by Justine Larbalestier, Skinned by Robin Wasserman, and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. All quite different and all compulsively readable. I love books that teach me something and keep me guessing. These three books all did that, plus they played with morality in fascinating ways. I love that. I like to be challenged.

Any we should look out for in 2010? Maybe a little book about a
certain boy/girl that we all adore? *___* (For serious-- Jack and Jill
need one of those couple names that gives them one name! Jackill?
Jillack? Something!)


I have no doubt that 2010 will be full of fantastic books. Sadly, they will not be sharing space with any new Jill/Jack adventures, however. I'm putting the McTeague twins on ice for now. I think they need some breathing room. I do have another book coming out, however, called Steal the Future. It's about ubiquitous surveillance combined with high stakes testing and will introduce readers to a tasty new romantic couple.

How long do you envision the series going?

For now, I only envision Cycler and (Re)Cycler but I won't rule out another one. I just had this other book burbling away inside my brain and I had to write it.

What was the sparking idea that got you on the path to writing about
body snatching? (Not really the right word but you know what I mean.
xD I hope! e_e;;)


I think body snatching is a great term for it. I've always been intrigued by the idea of body snatching and mind control. The scariest movies I can remember as a kid were Invasion of the Body Snatchers and The Stepford Wives. Both involve some kind of mind/body swap. It's possible that seeing those films as a teenager planted a seed somehow. Of course, I'm not consciously aware of the precise spark that gave rise to Cycler. Like most stories, it burbled away for a while until it was so big I had to do something about it. At that point, Jack basically sprang from my head fully formed and it was on.

Was Cycler the first story you'd written?

Cycler is actually the third novel I've written. I've also written about a dozen short stories and several screenplays. Sometimes things get published out of order. Truth be told, it took me two novels to learn how to write a novel properly because I had to unlearn all of my habits as a screenwriter.

What's the writing process like for you -- writing a series that you
stick to for a long period of time and delving more and more into the
world you've created with every book?


When I wrote Cycler, I envisioned it as a stand-alone novel. The characters got richer and more nuanced with every draft, but I didn't feel as if I'd finished with them by the end. The story felt complete, but the characters were only beginning to flex their muscles and come out of their shells. Writing a sequel was a wonderful opportunity to let them breathe. But in some ways it was more difficult. I couldn't revise their personalities to suit the plot because their deep characters had already been established. That put a lot of restrictions on what I could do but also it forced me to go deeper. I loved that.

Do you have any advice for aspiring/ beginning writers?

There's so much I've learned over the years that it would be difficult to boil it down. I think the most important thing for a writer, however, is dogged commitment. If you're not insanely passionate about telling your story, you'll never have the stamina to get through the rough patches. It's all rough patches. It never goes smoothly. Not for anyone. It's a slog, a battle, a creep through the underbrush, an out of control freight train, and many other metaphors. Only those writers with a blind, stupid determination to see it through, no matter what, succeed.

What's your one gottahaveit present for '09?

A new piano. I'm treating myself. I've wanted it for a long time and this year I'm finally going for it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much Lauren, it was so great chatting with you!

You can find out more about Lauren via her blog/website here!

Look out for Re-Cycler review tomorrow!

xoxoxo

Monday, November 30, 2009

RGR Needs YOUR help + Win Hush Hush!

While we're all spending the holidays typing up christmas lists, drinking eggnog by the fire, and enjoying the comforts of the season, some kids, our age and older, don't even have a warm place to sleep at night.

At age 18, many youth "age out" of foster care or the juvenile justice systems, without the necessary life skills to live independently. Some of them choose to leave their homes after years of mental, physical, and emotional abuse and neglect, so they turn to the streets, making themselves vulnerable to untreated mental health disorders, drug use, and sexual exploitation.

These homeless teens have no homes to go to, or family to be with, for christmas. They wont be getting any presents,the most they can wish for is a safe holiday, and hopefully somewhere warm to sleep at night. Luckily, there are a lot of shelters willing to help, but even staying in a shelter, there's nothing like a real home, and being able to be close to the ones you love, to make it feel like christmas.

Though everyone's having financial trouble right now, we have to hold onto the fact there are people out there, far worse off then we are. While we have to cut out some of our small luxuries, these kids have to cut out much more from their everyday lives. Nessecities.

And we can help. My idea is, to collect as many books as possible, YA Genre and above, to send to an orginization called HomeBase Youth Services.

They have street outreach teams that drive around with food and supplies for those still on the street, as well letting them know about their transitional living center which can be hard for them to find out about/get to, mobil medical outreach services for those still on the street, and their transitional living center to help them get back on their feet, and get an education while still having the opertunity to work and earn money to support themselves.

I know that books won't change the situation these kids are in, and I know that it's not food or anything. But whenever I get so wrapped up in my own issues that I just need an escape, I read. I love that I have that outlet, and I really do think that by donating these books we could be giving these kids a chance to be carefree, if only for a few moments. Moments that could make a huge diffrence on their outlook on life, inspire them to rise above their situations, and know that they can change things.

Even if you could donate just one book, used or new, you would be a big part in helping give these kids a way to escape all of their aweful circumstances for just a little while, and get pulled into new world, full of possibilities.

All book donations will be put in the HomeBase Transitional Living and Day Recorse Libraries, and EVERY donation is appreciated.

We're looking for mainly YA books, and they LOVE Twilight so think along those lines (Science Fiction, and Fantasy type stuff too) but I'm not going to be too picky, just books, please send me books!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much for reading guys! Now about that contest....

One of my favorite books of the year was Hush, Hush, by Becca Fitzpatrick, (LOVE!) And I'm so excited to announce a Hush, Hush giveaway!

I have a SIGNED Hardcover to give away, and also My ARC in perfect condition! I will give each of these away to two lucky winners who will also recive...

~ A Hush, Hush bookmark

~ A Hush, Hush postcard

~ AND a Hush, Hush cover art poster!


All you have to do to enter is....

1 Comment telling me what some of you're favorite books of '09 were

+2 Tell all you're friends to give up some of their old books to a great cause!

+3 Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Myspace, whatever about this post, specificlly about donating books to HomeBase Youth Center

+5 Make a youtube video encouraging people to donate.


**EDIT** Plus 10 if you donate at least one book (Above for details)!

Unfortunatly I can't affor international postage so this is just open to residents of the US, but if you'd like to donate from out of the country and are willing to pay the postage of course we'd be more then happy to accept you're donations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That's all everyone! I'd love it if you'd concider donating, and I hope you all enjoy the rest of the months festivities!

Keep an eye out for new posts every weekday for Interviews, Reviews, and chances to win cool prizes!

xoxoxo

RG's Best Picks of '09: An Intro to the Month of Awesomeness

Hello everyone! Oh, how I've missed you all!

November was a crazy month, mostly filled with school, school, and oh yeah a little bit more school. Then some NEW MOON(!), and Thanksgiving, and being the moral support to people who actually finished Nanowrimo.... T_T But all and all a great month! 8D And suddenly, December is upon us! Which means right back into blogging for me--and what better time then right now as we're gearing up for a season of snuggling up by the fire with a cup of peppermint hot chocolate and an amazing read?

This month is all about my favorite books of the year; of course there's so many, that it's very hard narrow it down, but I've managed to to decide on my top four favorites and I can't wait to share them with you. The others will still get reviewed (Probably this month or in the near future), as books I'd definitely recomend, along with some reviews of my favorite books of all time that I want to recomend to you for the holidays.

But that's not all!

On Tuesday I'll be announcing a special project that I'd love to have you all be a part of, as well as announcing the prizes in a HUGE christmas giveaway!

More on that then! For now...

xoxoxo

Monday, November 9, 2009

Winners, and Random Chat

Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of blogging lately! X_x Nano.... hasn't been going well for me xD I actually managed to hold onto the dea of starting for 3 days this year instead of two, but hey that's progress! 8D

Naw, honestly this month just started out really crazy for me and it's just not a good month for Nano! D8 But I'm thinking about saming all the pep talks in my email and trying again in January as a good karmic way to start out the year on a positive note. 8) hehe

Anywho, how's everyone elses nano's going?! Seriously I wanna know! And if you have tips bring them on!

Also, the winners of the posters are... Kieran and Kelsey! hehe

Let me know which ones you want!

xoxoxo

RG

Friday, October 30, 2009

OMGeee I Suck + Contest Winners

Hey guys, Happy Halloween!

(**EDIT** GRRR! I wanted to embed THIS video sooo badly but I'll link it anyways cause it's awesome! ^_^)

So, as you can probably tell, Vampire week didn't exactly happen... e_e;; and I'm so sorry! I just ended up being so busy this week that I had NO ROOM to fit in writing of reviews and such. :( I feel so, SO awful about it, but oh well I guess. =/

Anyway, putting that behind us, I do have a few updates about the site as well as our Halloweeny Month winners!

First off, next month, as I hope you know, is November ;) and that means... NANO! (Wrimo ;P) So, posts are going to be pretty scattered then, and I probably wont be doing a lot of reviews since I'll have no time to read! xD But I will try to post about my Nano progress and if any of you guys decide to join up you should follow me here!

Then, as I'm winding down from November, I'll be posting reviews, contests, and interviews in a new monthly feature I like to call, "ReaderGirl's Favorite Books of '09"! The idea is that by posting these things around Christmas I will be giving you new book suggestions you MUST add to you're Christmas list because they were just that fabulous! ;P and I hope you will because I know you will love them too!

I'm hoping to do this all through December, but as we know the holidays are very busy so I can't promise that I will do things everyday of every week, but I'll try to post lots! Especially since '09 was like a super-trifecta of YA greatness, and I really want to catch you up on any awesome titles you may have missed out on before New Years!

So... yeah guess that's all.... xD OH! Also just as a side note, in January I'll probably go through some of my '10 ARC's reviewing them and such and then I will probably slow down a ton and go to doing reviews here and there again, because honestly, I'm getting really wiped out! >_<

As much as I enjoy reviewing and hearing from you guys, I'm just plain exhausted, and I also really, really, really want to start focusing more on my new blog Indi.Grrls because I feel like it's going to be awesome and I just want to start posting there already!

But THAT is all. :) More on future stuffs in the future; for now, our WINNERS!

The Winner of the Fairy Tale Hardcover is... Book Pixie!

The Winner of the Paperback Blood and Chocolate is... Natalie!

And that's all.... e_e;;.... BUT THAT SOUNDS KINDA PITIFUL! xD So GUESS WHAT I'm gonna do?! Add some more prizes!

Let's see how about...

A mini Cirque Du Freak movie poster

and...

A mini New Moon movie poster?!

Enter by Sunday night @ 10 PM!

Just comment to WINNNN!


Now a fun video from the boys of Panic to get you in the spirit!



So NOW that's all! ^_^ lol What's everyone doing for Halloween?!

xoxoxo

Thursday, October 22, 2009

We Have A Winner!

BUT I can't tell you who it is untill the end of the month! :(

Until then, check out these other fab contests going on now!

Win an awesome Ghost Girl candle, win a copy of Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld!

Enjoy and thanks for joining me for Were-Week!

Vamps coming atchu Monday!

xoxoxo

RG

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

(WWDay4) Moonlight by Rachel Hawthorne Review!


Product Description From Amazon:

I see him and know what this turmoil inside of me means: He's the one. My forever.

Kayla is the nature lover, the all-American beauty who can't understand why she's so drawn to distant, brooding Lucas. Adopted as a young child, she has no way of knowing that she's inherited a terrifying—and thrilling—gene that will change her life forever.

Lucas is dangerous, gorgeous . . . and a werewolf. As leader of the Dark Guardians, shape-shifters who gather deep within the state park, he has sworn to protect his pack. But when Lucas finds his true soul mate, his love could put them all in harm's way.

As Lucas and Kayla struggle with their feelings for each other, a greater danger lurks: Humans have discovered the Dark Guardians and are planning their destruction. Kayla must choose between the life she knows and the love she feels certain is her destiny.


My Review:

Moonlight was a great read! I stayed up many a night to finish this one because I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next! I was totally captivated by Lucas (Uh, HOT! 8D) and I loved Kayla—I loved watching their relationship develop and mostly I just loved reading about all the mystery behind the guides and Lucas. It was a really great read! Very much my kind of book!

I do wish the author had taken Lucas and Kayla’s relationship into another story, but I think it’s cool that she followed up with the other characters in her other books too. I definitely want to read them as well. The story flowed really nicely, and it was well written too. Rachel Hawthorne is definitely one to watch!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is your LAST DAY to enter the Blood and Chocolate contest, so be sure to ENTER HERE by tonight!

xoxoxo

(WWDay3) Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis Review!

Produuct Description from Amazon: Moonlight can totally change your life.

And it all starts so simply.

You. Him.

The moon.

You're toast.

Okay, so maybe Shelby has made a few mistakes with boys lately (how was she supposed to know Wes had "borrowed" that Porsche?). But her stepmother totally overreacts when she catches Shelby in a post-curfew kiss with a hot senior: Suddenly Shelby's summer plans are on the shelf, and she's being packed off to brat camp. It's good-bye, prom dress; hello, hiking boots.

Things start looking up, though, when Shelby meets fellow camper (and son of a rock star) Austin Bridges III. But soon she realizes there's more to Austin than crush material—his family has a dark secret, and he wants Shelby's help guarding it. Shelby knows that she really shouldn't be getting tangled up with another bad boy . . . but who is she to turn her back on a guy in need, especially such a good-looking one? One thing's for sure: That pesky full moon is about to get her into trouble all over again.


My Review:

I was so excited to get this book because A. I love werewolves and B.….. Well, I don’t have a “B”, but I seriously love werewolves, and I was so glad that I ended up liking this book as much as I did! It ended up being a really cute read that I’d definitely recommend!

Shelby was cool, and though I didn’t love her step mother, I thought she handled the whole “beingshippedoffbyanalmosttotalstranger” thing really well! I would’ve freaked out WAY more! Lol

Shelby was also very relatable, even though it seemed like she would have had more money than the average person, and I liked that she wasn’t stuck up about that; she always seemed very down to earth. It kind of shows that just because some people have more money than others doesn’t make them that different from each other; she was still a teenager dealing with teenage crap, so I could relate!

Of course, the love interest Austen stole my heart…. (Darn those bad boys!) But they’re so hard not to love! X_x……………… HE HAD AN ACCENT!.................

All in all a super cute light read that I finished in about a day. I’d deffo recommend it! (Especially if you’re being shipped off to a reform camp by your step mother, your father's going along with it, and you need a good plane read! ;))



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you like the review, and make sure to check out the interview I did with Heather yesterday if you havn't already!

Also enter to win a copy of Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause here!

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

(WWDay2) Interview with Heather Davis-- Author of Never Cry Werewolf

What's your best Halloween memory?
Halloween was always very popular around my house because my dad is a joker by nature. I guess my favorite Halloween memory is from when I was about eleven. I built an amazing costume in our basement -- a chocolate chip cookie. It was like a "sandwich board" with two flat sides of the cardboard cookie on my front and back side and I wore a piece of my dad's old brown courduroy pants leg on my head tied like a chip. It was so huge and flat I couldn't sit down.

Anyway, I totally should have won the costume contest at the party I went to, but instead a girl whose mother had sewn her Merlin costume took the prize. So unfair! My dad sent me a Halloween card a few years ago, mentioning that cookie costume -- even he remembered it as pretty great.


Does Halloween inspire you to write more supernatural YA?

Not really. I'm always in the mood for a story beyond the ordinary.

How true do you think those werewolf stories are...?


True. Throughout history people have always been cast out of regular society because of genetic problems or deformities. It's so not right. I think that many of the legends we hear about today - vampires, werewolves -- are all about people who lived differently or had physical challenges or oddities.

What inspired you to write a story about werewolves?

I've always loved the duality of werewolves - the "normal" side you show to the world and your "wolf" that you keep hidden. Also, I used to live in a mountain town filled with deep, dark woods -- that really inspired me to say "what if?"

I adored Never Cry Werewolf! What's next for you?

Thanks! The Clearing is coming out in April 2010 - it's the story of a modern girl who moves to the country to her great aunt's farm to reclaim her life after an abusive relationship. There in the misty clearing at the back of the property she meets a boy stuck in a time loop -- it's always the summer of 1944 for him. They form a unique bond that teaches each of them that letting go and moving on is some times the best thing you can do. It's a serious, romantic YA that is quite different from Werewolf, but I think that readers will connect to the emotional heart of the story. After that... who knows?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks SO much to Heather for the awesome interview; it was a joy to have her. :) Keep an eye out for a review of Never Cry Werewolf later this week!

Sunday, October 18, 2009

(WWDay1) Blood and Chocolate Review and Givaway


Welcome to Were-Week! To start things off, how about a giveaway?!

To enter, leave a comment on this post about your favorite werewolf. Shouldn't be too hard, right?? ;P

+1 if you spread the word in some way

+1 if you follow the blog or my twitter

+2 if you repost

You have till Friday to enter, I'll pick a winner on Saturday morning.


Here's a look at you're prize, a review of Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Clause!

Product Description From Amazon:

In Blood and Chocolate, Annette Curtis Klause does for werewolves what Anne Rice has done for vampires.
Sixteen-year-old Vivian Gandillon is trying to fit in to her new home in the suburbs. But trying to act "normal" isn't always easy, since Vivian and her family are werewolves. It's glorious to have the power to change, and Vivian is a beautiful loup-garou with all the young wolves howling for her. But she wants no part of her squabbling pack, left leaderless by her father's recent death.

Then Vivian falls in love with a human, a meat-boy. If she reveals herself, will he relish the magic of her dual nature? When a brutal murder threatens the pack's survival, Vivian's divided loyalties are further strained. What is she really--human or beast?


My Review:

From the moment I picked up Blood and Chocolate I was hooked. Of course, I’m a huge fan of the supernatural in general, so maybe it was an easy sell, but I thought it was awesome from the get go.

Of course there were a few things I didn’t love along the way, but as a whole I actually really liked it. It ends diffrently from the movie for those of you who’ve seen that, and it’s actually quite a bit sadder that I thought the movie was, but still really good.

I actually watched the movie first so I have a bit of a soft spot for the movie version, but it was really interesting to read the book because there’s so much extra stuff in the book that gets left out or changed in the movie.Vivian’s cousins are always kind of entertaining to read about (Especially when picturing the guys from the movie…. e_e;;) and I actually liked Gabriel soooo much better in the book!

Annette did a great job with the writing and description-wise it was spot on. Definitely worth the read and if you’re a werewolf fan, you’ll love it!


xoxoxo

(FW Day (4)) Review of Fary Tale by Cyn Balog

Well, we've reached the end of our "Week of Fey", but it was fun times for all right?! I really enjoyed interviewing Cyn Balog, and I hope you all like the reviews! This week I also got sick so stuff was a little light for a few days there, but whatcha gonna do; cold and flu season right?! Anywho, next week is Were-Week, and I'm I'm super excited about it, but more on that tomorrow! For now, here's my review of Fairy Tale! :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Product Description From Amazon:

A captivating and witty dark fantasy that will have girls lusting after it.

Morgan Sparks has always known that she and her boyfriend, Cam, are made for each other. But when Cam’s cousin Pip comes to stay with the family, Cam seems depressed. Finally Cam confesses to Morgan what’s going on: Cam is a fairy. The night he was born, fairies came down and switched him with a healthy human boy. Nobody expected Cam to live, and nobody expected his biological brother, heir to the fairy throne, to die. But both things happened, and now the fairies want Cam back to take his rightful place as Fairy King.

Even as Cam physically changes, becoming more miserable each day, he and Morgan pledge to fool the fairies and stay together forever. But by the time Cam has to decide once and for all what to do, Morgan’s no longer sure what’s best for everyone, or whether her and Cam’s love can weather an uncertain future.


My Review:

I actually love a good love triangle (It makes things more interesting!), so I liked that aspect of Fairy Tale, and I ended up being kind of happy about who Morgan ended up with which I was glad about! Morgan’s voice throughout the story is very honest and from the beginning you feel for her and her situation and you also feel for the male characters as well. Pip tugs on your heartstrings and Cam sounds like such a great boyfriend that you’re just as heartbroken as Morgan when he gets caught up in his blood ties.

All in all book was a cute, light, read that was very enjoyable. Though the basic plot of the story was more serious, I thought Cyn did a good job of keeping things light and entertaining.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, I DO have the winner of this contest, but like I said before I'm going to keep all the winners names under lock and key until the last day of our Halloweeny feature! Luckily, it's creeping up on us so it'll be here in no time, but keep checking back for more contests, reviews, and author interviews!

Were-Week starts tomorrow! EEP!


xoxoxo

Friday, October 16, 2009

Interview with Cyn Balog/ Cirque Du Freak Winners!

So I was supposed to do a review of Cyn's book, Fairy Tale, YESTERDAY but I'm sick with an awful cold and now everything's backed up! :( But rest assured I'll be posting it sometime this weekend when I'm hopefully feeling better. Until then, here's an interview with Cyn!

OH! Also, as it is Friday, the winners of the Cirque Du Freak books are....
Kate and Kristen!

Congrats guys, I'll email you too, but remember to get me your address before Monday or I have to give the prize to the next runner up. =/

NOW, Cyn Balog! :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are you doing for Halloween this year?

I am going to be going to Disney World!!! We have tickets to Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party, which I have always wanted to go to. I am a huge Disney freak. I actually may end up not coming back home this time, I love Disney so much.


What is your favorite Halloween memory?


Last year, I took my daughter trick-or-treating for the first time (she was 2). She couldn't believe that she could actually just go up to a house and people would give her candy! The first house we went to, she was dressed like Little Red Riding Hood, and when the opened the door she tried to go inside. And then of course she wanted to keep going and going and going to every house in the neighborhood. And then she wanted to do it again on November 1, too.

What was you're best ever Halloween costume?

My mom made me a really cool Reeses Peanut Butter cup costume when I was a kid. I just loved that costume, and it was really special because I watched my mom make it and she put a lot of time and effort into it.

Witches, Ghosts, Zombies, Vampires, Werewolves, Jinn, or Fey?

I should be saying Fey, right? But I really have no alliance to them. Personally, I have always loved Zombies. All the Romero movies are my absolute favorites. And 28 Days Later and 28 Weeks Later?? The best!!!!

We all loved Fairy Tale, but what's next for you? When can we expect a new book?

SLEEPLESS is coming out July 13, 2010. It's about a Sandman who falls in love with a mortal girl whose sleep he controls.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much to Cyn for the interview, and don't forget to enter to win a hardcover copy of Fairy Tale here!

xoxoxo

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Oh my geez, what a terrible blunder (You CAN win a copy of Fairy Tale in this post! X_x)

Sooooo sorry guys! I meant to post about this in my Monday post, but I totally spaced OUT! So.... yeah... major suckage on my part, but you CAN enter to win a copy of Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog (Hardcover) through this post! xD

To enter, comment and let me know about your favorite fairy of all time. :)

+1 if you follow the blog in some way.

+2 if you tell a friend to enter. ;P


I'll pick a winner on Sunday, but as for all giveaways this month (Except for the Cirque Du Freak prize pack) I won't be posting the winners names until the end of the month because it's more fun to announce them all at once, right?!

Anywho, sorry again about that, won't happen again I swear! xP

xoxoxo

RG

(FW Day 3) Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Product Description from Amazon:
Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.

But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything


My Review:

Wicked Lovely is one of those books were the moment that you pick it up you instantly feel like you’re a part of the story; you’re swept up into a world you’ve never experienced, and yet somehow it feels all too familiar.

You realize that you must have always known Aislinn and that you’re the closest of friends; that you’ve always thought Seth was a hotty, though you’d never mention that to Aislinn since you knew how crazy he was about her. You feel like you too have felt the fey watching you at some point in your life, and are curious and afraid by the idea that they may not be figments of your imagination after all.

It’s these kind of stories that I love.

When you can write a book with characters that feel like old friends, a setting that feels like home, and an adventure that I’ve only ever dreamed I could be a part of, you’ve got me hooked. Wicked Lovely was one of these books.

I bonded with Aislinn from the beginning and loved her fierce tenacity throughout the story. She was completely kick ass, and amazing, and I loved going through this chapter of her life with her. Seth stole my heart many a months after I finished the book, and still has it through Fragile Eternity… The fey sounded startlingly beautiful and frightening, and I was completely sucked into their history.

The novel on the whole was very beautifully written, I loved Seth, I loved Aislinn, and I’d definitely recommend this book to lovers of the fey.


xoxoxo

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Hush, Hush And Fat Cat out today!!!

Just wanna take a quick break from faries to give a shoutout to two lovely authors whom I love whose books hit the shelves TODAY!

I can't stop saying how much I loved Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick and you can read about how much I loved Robin Brande's last book, Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature HERE, so I can't wait to read her next book, Fat Cat!

Go check out the shelves today and please consider picking up one of these fabulous new YA titles. :)

xoxoxo

RG

Monday, October 12, 2009

Fey Week In Full Swing! Win A copy of Fairy Tale!!!

Hey Guys! Eep, October is here, and you know what that means.... Our first week of reviews, interviews, and GIVEAWAYS! Plus cooler weather ;) haha

Last week I left things pretty open because that was a hugely busy week for me, but I hope you all looked up interesting facts on freak shows as your entry to WIN ALL THE CIRQUE DU FREAK BOOKS BY DARREN SHAN as part of the promotion for the new Cirque Du Freak movie (Out October 23!)! Also don't forget to vote on you're favorite T-Shirt saying at the bottom of the page for a chance to win the soundtrack! (If my blog wins of course ;))
On to the faries! This week we'll have reviews of Wicked Lovely, and Fairy Tale, Plus an Interview with author Cyn Balog!

Plus though angels don't EXACALLY fall into the fey catagory, THEY DO HAVE WINGS! And Becca Fitzpatricks upcoming YA book Hush, Hush comes out tomorrow! I Loved this book and I really want to shout out to her tomorrow in honor of the release of her book. :) Unfortunitely I won't be posting a review till December-ish in my Favorite Books of '09 feature, but I want to make sure I get the word out about this amazing first instalment in her series that's gonna totally blow you away!

Anyways, stay tuned for all the fun this week, and make sure to enter to win the Cirque Du Freak books HERE!

xoxoxo

Sunday, October 11, 2009

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox was originally started by Kristi, The Story Siren, and she was inspired to create it by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. Basically it's just a fun way to let everyone who wants to know what you've been reading (*coughcough* Hoarding...*cough/gag*), what you plan to read (look at, ponder reading, eventually return to the library due to due date restrictions), and what you ARE reading.

Thanks To Kristi for starting this, and don't forget that you can make your VERY OWN In My Mailbox post and add it to the IMM blogger links list attached at the end of all of Kristi's IMM posts! ^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well this week I've mostly been busy reading City of Bones, and just plain busy with LIFE >_< But I did get a few good books since my last IMM post!

Stop In The Name Of Pants by Louise Rennison (I panicked because the new one is coming out SOOOON and I still have to finish this one! Eep! But these books are sooo cute, I love them, so I was happy when I saw it at the library since they've been asking for it back every time I get it. X_x)

Ash by Malinda Lo (*screamsingiddyexcitment* I've been wanting to read this for so long! *grabbyhands* I can't wait to start it!)

Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan (David has a really unique way of writing so I'm really excited to read this one. :))

The a bunch of books about traveling to Europe; it sounds so awesome there, I wanna go! xP


ANYWHO! Kind of a light week, but I'm super excited about all the books I got, and can't wait to get started reading!.... right after I finish a few other books.... e.e;;

P.S. Don't forget to vote on your favorite Cirque Du Freak T-shirt saying (at the bottom of the page), and enter to win the Cirque Du Freak books here!

xoxoxo

Monday, October 5, 2009

Cirque Du Freak Promotion! Win Books!

What better way to start off our Halloween themed month then with something truly horrifying; freak shows!


What better way to start off our Halloween themed month then with something truly horrifying; freak shows!

Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant, is the first book of Darren Shan's wildly popular series of books for the YA genre, and also the book that the new movie is based on(In theaters October 23rd)! If you don't know much about the books or the movie, you can click here to find out more!

The new movie edition (The Vampire's Assistant and Other Tales from the Cirque Du Freak by Darren Shan) features the first three books in the series--Cirque Du Freak, The Vampire's Assistant, and Tunnels of Blood-- all in one book!

Here's a quick blurb about it:

Do you love to be scared? Then don't miss the terrifying adventure that begins when Darren and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the CIRQUE DU FREAK, a wonderfully bizarre and creepy freak show. Brace yourself for thrills and chills as the boys witness a parade of grotesque creatures and face their deepest fears by entering the darkest world of the vampire. In the blood-curdling tradition of Anne Rice and Stephen King, CIRQUE DU FREAK will have you shrieking for the next horror show!

Now, on to the prizes!

Two lucky winners will receive...

A Cirque Du Freak book Set (3 titles in one book)


And a...

Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant Locker Mirror
Woo! Free stuff! 8D Here's what you can do to win:

1 Entry: Comment telling me one interesting fact about freak shows, or Darren Shan.

And for an extra entry, follow the blog, or follow me on twitter! (But only if you really want too! ;)


You can only enter one time for this one (Unless you're letting me know about a second entry or just want to say, "Hey!" ;P) Because last time I was WAY overloaded with entry which was an awesome thing, but still, it was alot! xD

ALSO! Don't forget to vote for your favorite Cirque Du Freak Movie T-shirt saying at the BOTTEM of the page! Lots of blogs are doing these promotions and the one with the most votes gets an ipod touch and a copy of the soundtrack which I would of course giveaway to one of you in thanks for voting! 8D (Cause I really need a new pod, mine is shot! T_T)

VOTE, VOTE, VOTE! And ENTER, ENTER, ENTER!!! (hehe)

xoxoxo

Month of Halloween On RGR!


Welcome to THE MONTH OF HALLOWEEN on ReaderGirl Reviews!

Eep! I'm so excited! I know this message is coming through a little late but I've had a heck of a day to bear with me. xD I've been a bit unorganized about Halloween Month this year, especially as it's the first year I've done it,. but I've got so much stuff planned--so much awesome to spread around the bloggosphere--that if I can get it all up and running for your enjoyment it will be miracle! xD And AWESOME, AWESOME Miracle that YOU will have a chance to be a part of!

Here's how it's gonna go down:

This Week, we start off our Halloween-ness with a Cirque Du Freak movie promotion sponsored by Big Honcho Media! Now there's MANY awesome things about this promotion (I hope they're obvious enough! ;D) And as much as I'd like to list them all just because, the contest doesn't officially start until tomorrow so you'll have to wait for more details till then! *zipslips*

The after this week, each week with feature a different creature.

Fey-Week

Were-Week

and Vamp-Week!

Including Author interviews, LOTS of reviews, and a new contest EACH WEEK!


It's going to be so fabby, and I really hope you guys enjoy it! :) Check the blog tomorrow for more news on the Cirque Du Freak Promotion!

xoxoxo

Sunday, October 4, 2009

In My Mailbox (7)

Well, I didn't want to forget to post today, but sadly I haven't been keeping up my the blogs I usually follow and that's how I find out about awesome upcoming YA books, so no books IMMB for me this week.... T_T

BUT! While I was drowning my sorrows in some nummy cereal over THAT I decided to check out my blogroll and look what I found!

Kristi (The Story Siren) got some good ones this week, in perticular Beautiful by Amy Reed sounded good, and I CAN'T WAIT to read Fat Cat by Robin Brande, I'm pretty sure I've been waiting for this one ever since I first reviewed Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature! (Literally my first review! Awww, just like bringing out the baby pictures. ;))

Harlequin Twilight Book Blog got Lips Touch by Laini Taylor (The artwork looks so much like Brett Helquist's that I MUST read it! Plus everybody is blogging about it so it must be amazing right??) She also got Ash by Melinda Lo which makes me so jealous because-- WHY? WHY?? Why must Hardcovers cost so much?! I want it! D8

Anywho, check out these posts, these ladies run awesome blogs and it's always fun seeing what they're reading. :)

Look out for Halloween related posts Starting Monday! This week is going to be mostly random reviews and Halloween talk but this month I am going to try to blog EVERY DAY so it's gonna be a blast anyways! 8D haha

xoxoxo

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Geez I'm Slow! (A Banned Books Week Post)

Wow, so somehow this years banned books week has slipped right past my radar, and I am only now doing a post about it.... EPPPPIIICCCC FAAAAIIIILLLL ALLLEEEERRRRTTT!

Anyways, this is Banned Books Week! (Or the end of it anyways.... >_e) YAY for banned books!

Some of my favorites are...

Forever by Judy Blume
Reason For Ban:
Graphic scenes involving SEX, candid details about teen relationships and the way the Judy Blume wrote about adolescent sexuality to plainly.
(The book that everyone freaks out over! Seriously everyone I've met has said they don't want to read it because of the reputation it's gotten. Honestly? Sex exists people, and yeah it's awkward and personal and our culture doesn't like to have it talked about so publicly but so what?! It's a fact of life, DEAL. X_x *couldgoonandonaboutthisbutwillspareyou* This book was terrific!

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Reason For Ban:
Use of the word N****r.
(Definitely not a nice word, but that was one used in the time period the book was written so banning it really doesn't seem fair to me.)

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews
Reason For Ban:
"Profanity" and "Pornography", I guess most of this series were taken off the shelves at one point. o.o


The His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman
Reason For Ban:
Political and religious viewpoints and some violence.
(These books are literary genius! D8)

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Reason For Ban:
Use of the word N****r.
(Definitely not a nice word, but that was one used in the time period the book was written so banning it really doesn't seem fair to me.)

Annie on My Mind by
Reason For Ban:
In short; homosexuality.
(Don't get me started...;_;)

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Reason For Ban:
Well, it's ABOUT censorship for one... X_x And also i guess someone Complained about the use of the word "God damn" in the book.


And MORE!

Harry potter Series

Lord of the Rings Trilogy

the Giver

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I Am The Cheese

A Raisin In The Sun

What I Know Now

On The Bright Side, I'm Now The Girlfriend of a Sex God

Catcher In The Rye

Rainbow Boys

Of Mice and Men

Bridshead Revisited


And that's not All! The sad thing is that most books (Magazines, Movies...etc.) Have probably gone under the eyes of censorship at one point or another.; but there is a way to fight it! If you're reading this now, please borrow one of these books from a friend or the library or by all means, buy them! Also please, please, please, spread the word when you love it! ;D These are all fabulous books that deserve a life without censorship. Vivi la Banned Books!

xoxoxo

Sunday, September 27, 2009

In My Mailbox (6)


In My Mailbox was originally started by Kristi, The Story Siren, and she was inspired to create it by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. Basically it's just a fun way to let everyone who wants to know what you've been reading (*coughcough* Hoarding...*cough/gag*), what you plan to read (look at, ponder reading, eventually return to the library due to due date restrictions), and what you ARE reading.

Thanks To Kristi for starting this, and don't forget that you can make your VERY OWN In My Mailbox post and add it to the IMM blogger links list attached at the end of all of Kristi's IMM posts! ^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So this has been a CRAZY week, we've been here there and everywhere which has left very little time for any fun reading (The most I've read this week is history stuffs! o.o)

BUT Part of being busy includes the library! (And the mailbox of course xD) And so, this weeks lovelys are....

The Illustrated Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (I tried reading JE once before and had a hard time so I figure, what the hey?! When all else fails look at the pictures! ;D)

Hunger by Micheal Grant (Finally! I've been staking out the library for weeks for dis one! *evillaughs*)

North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley (Sounds so cool, I've been considering this one for a while and just happend to see it.)

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder (Sounds good! 8D Thanks to Harlequin Teen!)

Viola in Reel Life by Adriana Trigiani (Sounds uber cute, can't wait to read it!!!)

Ballad by Mahhoe Striefvater (I still need to read the first one, but I won it in a contest so YAY! ^^)


Woot woot! I love my books. *smiiiillleees*

What's everybody else reading?!

xoxoxo

OH, WAIT!

P.S. Anyone have questions @RichelleMead (Author of Vampire Academy Series)? Email them to me readergirlreviews@gmail.com

Friday, September 18, 2009

And the winners are... (Maximum Ride Promotion)

Jackeline R. and Lady Storm!

Congrats guys! I hope you get my emails, if I don't hear back from you by Monday the prize packs will go to someone else so check you're emails or get in touch with me somehow. :)

Thanks again to Big Honcho Media for letting me host this awesome promotion, and also thanks to everyone who entered!Even if you didn't win, please check out the Maximum Ride series, and be sure to get you're copy of Max in Paperback now!

xoxoxo

RG

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Maximum Ride Review/ Last day to enter to WIN!



“It’s sooo great,” “You’re gonna love it,” “Fang is soooo hot!”

At one point I was being pressured from all sides to read this book, and to be honest at first I was very hesitant… but that was before I read the first one…

I dipped into the world of Maximum Ride coming in on a mad flight, running away from a crazy group of Erasers, and fighting for my life, alongside my new friend Max. We narrowly escape but that’s not the end of our trouble. Nearly as soon as I’m introduced to the rest of the gang, we learn that trouble has followed us home.

In that one moment, my life of lounging on the couch with a soda, a bowl of Cheese-Its, and a book has turned upside down, and now I’m part of an adventure; a scary story that’s ending is sitting right in my hands, only I’m too nervous to look. And so, I keep reading. There’s no turning back.

I wish I could say that now I know we’ll make it through ok, but the fact is, I still have a few books to go, and I honestly don’t know. But Max and the gang could really use your help. Are you game?


If you’ve ever wanted to fly to great heights, be a part of something bigger then yourself, and kick butt, Maximum Ride is the book for you. You’ll constantly feel like you’re right there in the action with Fang, Iggy, Gasman, Nudge, Angel, and of course Max.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hey guys, this is your LAST DAY to enter to WIN ALL OF JAMES PATTERSON’S YA BOOKS. I don’t want anyone to miss out their chance to win so MAKE SURE TO ENTER BEFORE 12 TOINIGHT! I’ll be posting the winner FRIDAY.

REMEMBER, all you have to do to enter is comment on the promotion post, and then you're in! You can comment as many times as you want until 12 tonight and then it's officially closed.

Thanks guys!

xoxoxo


Monday, September 14, 2009

In my Mailbox (5)

In My Mailbox was originally started by Kristi, The Story Siren, and she was inspired to create it by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. Basically it's just a fun way to let everyone who wants to know what you've been reading (*coughcough* Hoarding...*cough/gag*), what you plan to read (look at, ponder reading, eventually return to the library due to due date restrictions), and what you ARE reading.

Thanks To Kristi for starting this, and don't forget that you can make your VERY OWN In My Mailbox post and add it to the IMM blogger links list attached at the end of all of Kristi's IMM posts! ^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hiya readers! You may or may not have noticed I haven't been posting "in my mailbox" for quite a few weeks now, and perhaps you are wondering why?

The simplest answer is that I haven't in fact gotten much "In My Mailbox" as of late! xD However I did also totally space on posting one week (a few weeks ago) and so I shall now attempt to make up for it by posting the books I got then and recently bought or got from the library!


~ Max by James Patterson (Don't forget to COMMENT on the James Patterson promotion post for a chance to WIN all of James' YA books!!!)

~ The Dark Divine by Bree Despain (ARC I am BERY excited to read!)

~ Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares (I want to end the series now, I've been putting it off for far too long! T_T From Book Mooch!)

~ The Vampire Diaries: the Awakening and Struggle by L.J. Smith (Bought today! I LOVED the pilot of the TV show on the CW and now I HAVE to read the books! This IS the first book right?? e_e)

~ Blood Promise by Richelle Mead (Eeeep! READ THESE!)

So that's my past few weeks! xD I honestly feel like I should have more but I don't. :( I've got soooo much to read right now though so I'm deffo trying to buckle down and lower my reading mound at least a little.... e_e

Please, please, please, please, PLEASE comment on the James Patterson promotion page to possibly WIN one of two HUGE JAMES PATTERSON PRIZE PACKS including ALL OF HIS YA BOOKS!

You still have A WEEK LEFT TO ENTER so make sure you do lots of times! I don't want anyone to miss out on the chance to win these awesome prizes!

xoxoxo